About Wales

Wales, part of the United Kingdom (UK) and the island of Great Britain is bordered by England to the south and east and the Irish Sea to the north and west. With a population of 3 million, the majority of Wales’s day-to-day administration is run by the Welsh Government in Cardiff, Wales’ thriving capital city. The Welsh Government is held to account by 60 elected Assembly Members who sit in the striking Senedd (‘Parliament’) building in the magnificent Cardiff Bay.

Despite having a devolved government, Wales retains political representation at UK level where key decisions are taken on foreign policy, defence etc., it shares a legal system with England and uses British pound sterling as its currency (GBP). Wales also has strong links with the European Union (EU), courtesy of the UK’s membership.